Over 160 year of History
More than a century and a half ago, a ragtag lot of Ashkinazic Jews gathered Kingston, NY in the Rondout neighborhood home of Alexander Adler. The group began holding Orthodox services, and so Temple Emanuel (as it was known) was born.
While the city of Kingston has a long and proud history stretching back to colonial days, it’s important to note that the Jewish people of Congregation Emanuel played a significant part in that timeline.
In 1861, they purchased a Baptist temple, and in 1892 they moved to their new home at 50 Abeel St. They also affiliated with the Reform Movement. With the prosperity of the fifties and the new IBM offices in town, the Board began an ambitious building project. In 1959 the current building, an iconic mid-century beauty designed by Arthur Silver, was completed. Located on Albany Avenue, the building includes metal-work by congregant and world-famous metalsmith Kurt Mazdorf.
The community is now known as Congregation Emanuel of the Hudson Valley, and congregants are drawn from throughout the region. Today, the congregation is led by the trailblazing Rabbi Yael Romer, and the community is thriving.
50 Abeel Street, Kingston, NY
The sanctuary of Congregation Emanuel is an icon of mid-century architecture. Our building was designed by noted architect Arthur Silver. “His extant works have typical characteristics of mid-century architecture but none like the striking blue decorative honeycomb screen that adorns the Kingston building. Colored glass is also incorporated into the windows behind the screen to create what looks like an intimate religious space.” The congregation was built during the years of 1957-1958, and dedicated in 1959.